Inner West, NSW

The ICAN Cities Appeal was endorsed unanimously by the Inner West Council on 13 November 2018.





Motion moved by Cr Louise Steer and seconded by Cr Sam Iskandar.


1.   Council congratulates ICAN on its historic achievement of winning the Nobel Peace Prize and its valuable contribution toward global nuclear disarmament;

2.   Council endorses the ICAN Cities Appeal which states that: “Our city is deeply concerned about the grave threat that nuclear weapons pose to communities throughout the world. We firmly believe that our residents have the right to live in a world free from this threat. Any use of nuclear weapons, whether deliberate or accidental, would have catastrophic, far-reaching and long-lasting consequences for people and the environment. Therefore, we warmly welcome the adoption of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons by the United Nations in 2018, and we call on our national government to sign and ratify it without delay.”;

3.   The Mayor writes on behalf of Inner West Council to the Foreign Affairs Minister calling for the Australian government to sign and ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on behalf of the Australian people; and

4.   Council:

a)   Review its investment policy to ascertain whether it invests in any financial institution that support the production of nuclear weapons with a view to divesting any such investments; and

b)    Report to councillors on the outcome of the review within 2 months of this motion.


Nuclear weapons cause massive environmental destruction and their effects on human and animal health, by causing genetic mutations, lasts for generations. These effects include cancer and severe birth defects. There is ample scientific research that confirms the ongoing detriment caused by nuclear weapons.

Before amalgamation, the former councils of Marrickville, Leichhardt and Ashfield declared their council areas to be nuclear free zones and that policy continues for Inner West Council.

The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), established in Australia in 2007, was awarded the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a global treaty for the prohibition of nuclear weapons.

On 7 July 2017, 122 nations voted to adopt the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (“the Treaty”).

At this time the Treaty has been signed by 69 nations and ratified by 19 nations. Once ratified by 50 nations, it will enter into force.

While the Australian Government supports the goal of a world free of nuclear weapons, it has not yet signed or ratified the Treaty.

ICAN has launched the Cities Appeal, a campaign for towns and cities to voice their concern for the consequences of nuclear weapons and endorse the Treaty.



2020: Australian Local Government Association

The Inner West Council submitted a motion in support of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons to the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA)  for discussion at the 2020 National General Assembly.

In August 2020, after receiving submissions from local councils across the nation, the Australian Local Government Association board wrote to the Senator the Hon. Marise Payne Minister for Foreign Affairs with a message: Councils urge the Australian Government to sign and ratify the United Nations Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.