Waverley, NSW

The ICAN Cities Appeal was endorsed by Waverley Council on Tuesday 20th August, 2019.



Moved by Councillor Copeland, seconded by Councillor Keenan, and passed unanimously.

That Council:

1. Welcomes and endorses the adoption of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons by the United Nations in 2017 and calls on our national government to sign and ratify it without delay.

2. Notes that our municipality is deeply concerned about the grave threat that nuclear weapons pose to communities throughout the world. We firmly believe that our residents have the right to live in a world free from this threat. Any use of nuclear weapons, whether deliberate or accidental, would have catastrophic, far-reaching and long-lasting consequences for people and the environment.

3. Notes that the following distinguished Australians have signed the appeal to the Australian government to support a global ban on nuclear weapons: 

(a) Rt Hon Doug Anthony AC. (b) Hon Peter Baume AC. (c) Hon Sir Gerald Brennan AC, KBE, QC. (d) Ita Buttrose AO, CBE. (e) John Coates AC. (f) Tony Eggleton AO. (g) Prof Allan Fels AO. (h) Air Vice Marshall James Flemming AO. (i) Rt Hon. Malcolm Fraser AC. (j) Margaret Fulton OAM. (k) Hon Dame Margaret Guilfoyle AC, DBE. (l) Rt Rev Dr Peter Hollingsworth AC, CBE. (m) Janet Holmes à Court AC. (n) Hon T.E.F. Hughes AO, QC. (o) Maj-Gen Michael Jeffery AC, CVO, MC. (p) Vice Adm. David Leach AC, CBE. (q) Hon. Sir Anthony Mason AC, KBE, QC. (r) Baillieu Meyer AC. (s) Sir Eric Neal AC. (t) Sir Gustav Nossal AC, CBE. (u) Hon. Andrew Peacock AC. (v) Air Vice Marshall Robert Richardson AO, AFC. (w) Hon. Kevin Rozzoli AM. (x) Rt Hon. Sir Ninian Stephen KG, AK, GCMG, GCVO, KBE. (y) Carla Zampatti AC