Australia’s position


Australia’s early ambitions to acquire an atomic arsenal ended when it joined the Non-Proliferation Treaty in 1973. But it has not yet become a strong and consistent supporter of nuclear disarmament. Australia has resisted calls by civil society to sign and ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, as the government believes that US nuclear weapons enhance Australia’s security.

Australia also contributes to global nuclear dangers through the export of uranium to most of the nuclear-armed nations. Safeguards offer only the illusion of protection against the diversion of Australian uranium for weapons production. Furthermore, many Australian financial institutions, including the government-owned Future Fund, invest in foreign companies that manufacture, maintain and modernise nuclear arsenals. It is time for Australia to end its complicity in the nuclear problem.


The Australian Labor Party committed to signing and ratifying the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons when in government.

The policy commitment took place at the 2018 Labor Conference, where party members voted unanimously in favour of the resolution put forward by Anthony Albanese MP and seconded by Richard Marles MP.

The move reflects the broad support for the Nuclear Ban Treaty among Labor’s base. Since the treaty was adopted in July 2017, 78 per cent of federal Labor parliamentarians have pledged to work for Australia’s signature and ratification of the landmark agreement. Their endorsement built momentum for today’s platform commitment. The trade union movement has also rallied behind the treaty, and other influential supporters include Australian Red Cross, the Australian Medical Association, the National Council of Churches, the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, and major environmental and humanitarian organisations. Finally, an Ipsos poll in November showed that 83 per cent of Labor voters want the next Labor government to sign up to the treaty.

 ICAN applauds this move as a major breakthrough that heralds a more constructive Australian approach to nuclear disarmament, entirely compatible with the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and the US Alliance. Australia has taken a firm humanitarian stand against landmines and chemical weapons. Now we must do the same for the most indiscriminate and destructive weapons of all.


Parliamentarians played a major role in realizing the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. Now we are seeking their help to promote the signature and ratification of the treaty by all nations. The Parliamentary Pledge is a commitment by parliamentarians around the world to work for their government to join the treaty.

Please visit the Parliamentary Pledge page to view the list of signatories in Australia’s federal, state and territory parliaments and the text of the Pledge:



The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) is a coalition of non-governmental organisations in more than one hundred countries promoting adherence to and implementation of the treaty.

ICAN was awarded the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize for our work to raise awareness of the devastating humanitarian impacts of nuclear weapons and for our role in achieving the treaty.